new to muzzleloaders

stevenstell
new to muzzleloaders

Post by stevenstell » March 11th, 2013, 8:06 pm

this is my first time to muzzleloaders and to any kind of form.... so I hope this makes sense. I just purchased a kp1 50 cal and am very excited to shoot it. I hear it is a great riffle, and I think it is the best looking one around. anyway to the point. I have no idea what loads, bullets, and primers to use. I will be using this riffle to hunt elk and mule deer. I read in this forum about upgrades and changes and drill bits.... its all very confusing. I like it simple, so any help that anyone can offer me is greatly appreciated. It sounds like everyone I read here is hard core, and I am very impressed. I hope, in the not to distant future, I will understand all I read.... and perhaps some day I can contribute something intelligent! thanks in advance for any recommendations. p.s. I will be hunting in Colorado, so its iron sights, no sabots, and loose powder..... I think.

foglesco

Re: new to muzzleloaders

Post by foglesco » March 12th, 2013, 12:34 pm

I thought Colorado was also a no 209 primer state? If so I don't think the KP1 will work. You may want to go to the Web and check the regulations.

stevenstell

Post by stevenstell » March 12th, 2013, 4:45 pm

foglesco,
thanks for the reply. I just looks at the muzz regs in my 2013 Colorado big game book. it states that: h. shotshell primers are legal. are shotshells the same as 209. I cannot find anything about 209 being legal or not legal pelletized powder is prohibited. also prohibited are, smokeless powder, electronic powered devises, sabots. 40 caliber min for deer, pronghorn or bear. 50 caliber min for elk, or moose. min bullet weight deer 170 and elk 210. again, from my ignorance, are shotshell the same as 209. I thought I heard somewhere that they are the same only better.... burns hotter or something like that. thanks again for taking the time to respond to my post.

foglesco