New Extreme owner has questions

art338wm
New Extreme owner has questions

Post by art338wm » April 18th, 2014, 5:46 pm

Greetings to everyone, I am a new member and this is my first post.
I am a soon to be a new owner of a used but LNIB excellent condition Extreme .45 caliber stainless fluted with laminated stock, complete with the disk eliminating bolt conversion. I have no actual experience with knights, so as such I have some questions and this seems like the perfect place to ask them. I apologize if any of the questions are pointless, I do have well over 3000 shots combined out of my other ML's, but as I said I have zero knowledge of Knight ML's. I been wanting to own a Knight ML for a long time and now I finally will. My oldest son wishes to start deer hunting and as I got a super deal on it, this Knight Extreme was the most affordable way to get him started, as well as keeping the recoil as low as possible, as well as using it myself if he doesn't like it. He has shot and likes my Encore and planed on starting him out with it, but the knight I'm thinking can give him performance equal to the Encore with less recoil, and is likely a easior rifle for him to handell.

#1-Whats a good low recoil load using 200grn XTPs or 190grn Barnes and BH-209.
#1-Approx how many shots will I get out of a breach plug if I use 120 grain by volume of BH 209 and 200 grain bullets such as a XTP or a 190 grain Barnes.
#2-Is Knight the best or only place to buy replacement breach plugs or can they be bought else where?
#3-Concerning breach plugs, what is the ID of its flash whole when new, and is it known at what size increase of ID of the flash hole will requier it's replacement.
#4-If I end up using it, does the .45 cal Extreme shooting a 200 grain .40 cal XTP pushed by 120 grains of BH 209 have the balistics to kill a deer at ranges of 275 to 300 yards as some people have claimed on other websites