Breech Plug

tom Hill
Breech Plug

Post by tom Hill » November 4th, 2014, 6:01 am

I just won A Knight MK 85 rifle. My question is about the breach plug. Is there a special tool to remove it with, or can I just use a small wrench or socket? I have always wanted to try a black powder gun, but just never got around to getting one, because there was always another gun I wanted worse. I'm Really excited about winning this one, and am looking forward to shooting it. Hopefully I will get to tomorrow. I'm even thinking about trying it out for deer hunting. I bought a video at Wal Mart on shooting black powder rifles. They talked about the Mk 85 quite a bit, but the one they talked about used the #11 primers,where mine takes the 209 primers.
Anyway, I was wondering about the breach plug tool so that I can take it out to grease it. Any suggestions or replies will be greatly appreciated, since I am new to black powder rifles. I've been around guns all my life and my parents started letting me go out hunting with friends when I was 15. I got my first gun for Christmas when I was sixteen. It was an H&R single shot 12 gauge. Before that, my brother and I took turns using our dads old Stevens bolt action single shot 22, and his single shot 20 gauge shotgun.
I was always more into handguns. I had my 12 gauge, then I bought a Marlin 22 semi auto when I was 19. After that, it was all handguns. Still have the 12 gauge and the Marlin 22.
At one time, I had 32 handguns. I was always wheeling and dealing in them. Ended up having to sell them off over the years for bills or needing money for something, until I got down to no more handguns.