New smokepoler in need of assistance

ferris bugler
New smokepoler in need of assistance

Post by ferris bugler » August 27th, 2014, 9:37 pm

Hi all. Looking forward to learning from this forum. I have never used muzzleloaders before. I have always hunted archery and my dad started shooting a muzzleloader so we could hunt elk during the same time here in Colorado. He passed away from cancer a couple of years ago and I am now trying to learn how to use his guns so I can hunt deer this year during our September season. One gun is a 50 cal disc and the other is a 54 cal TC Hawken. I have been shooting the guns this summer trying to get used to them, and how things all come together when you pull the trigger. One gun is a 50 cal disc and the other is a 54 cal TC Hawken. I now feel as though I know the gun well and as I try to dial it in I have some questions and some concerns. Hoping someone can help me out.

First of all I think something slipped through the cracks when my dad was sick and after the last time he fired the knight it didn't get clean. I realize that blackpowder is corrosive, and the gun sat for three years or so. My worry here is that when I am loading the bullet with the ramrod everything feels fine until I get about 3 inches from where the load seats. At that point it feels as though it gets a little lose and then tightens back up where it seats. Is that normal? There is still tension but not as tight as the rest of the barrel. If there is an issues it something that is fixable?

Any help would be appreciated.

Novemberelk

Re: New smokepoler in need of assistance

Post by Novemberelk » August 28th, 2014, 9:36 am

Let me ask you this my friend... How does the gun shoot?

ferris bugler

Post by ferris bugler » August 28th, 2014, 9:48 am